skip to content


The University of Connecticut is a school of choice for academically talented students. In 2012, approximately 50,000 prospective students and their families took the student-guided Lodewick Visitors Center tour of the UConn campus in Storrs.

Fall 2012 enrollment: 30,256

Chart of Undergraduate Enrollment


  • 17,528 Undergraduates at main campus
  • 4,773 Undergraduates at regional campuses
  • 22,301 Subtotal Undergraduate

Chart of Graduate Enrollment


  • 6,613 Graduate (M.A./Ph.D., incl. 321 at Health Center)
  • 623 Law
  • 191 Pharm.D.
  • 359 Medicine
  • 169 Dental Medicine
  • 7,955 Subtotal Graduate/Professional

Fall 2013 entering freshmen at main campus: 3,755

  • Average SAT score: 1233
  • 45% were in top 10% of high school class
  • 82% were in top 25% of high school class
  • 85 valedictorians and 80 salutatorians (all campuses)

Student Characteristics

Characteristics Fall 2012 Undergraduate Grad/Professional
Female 50% 51%
Minority 26% 17%
International1 3% 18%
Connecticut Residents2 81% 70%
  • 1 98 countries were represented in the Fall 2012 international student population.
  • 2 76% of undergraduates on main campus are Connecticut residents.
  • All 169 Connecticut towns and 46 of 50 states are represented in total undergraduate student body.

Retention and Graduation Rates

Main Campus All Minority
Freshmen Retention: 1-Year Rate 93% 91%
Graduation: 4-Year Rate 67% 59%
Graduation: 6-Year Rate 82% 77%
  • UConn (main campus) ranks 12 out of 58 public research universities in graduation rate for all freshmen and 21 out of 58 public research universities for minority freshmen. (Sources: U.S. News 2013 America's Best Colleges & 2011 IPEDS Graduation Rate Survey)
  • UConn (main campus) average time to graduate is 4.2 years among those who graduate within 6 years, and ranks 4 out of 58 public research universities.

Student Awards and Achievements

Over the past year, undergraduate as well as graduate students from across the University of Connecticut have been honored with prestigious research grants, fellowships, and awards on the state and national levels.

College of Agriculture and Natural Resources

  • Kathleen Carey, a senior majoring in animal science, received the prestigious Goldwater Scholarship, given for academic excellence in science, mathematics and engineering.
  • Dr. Kumar Venkitanarayanan's graduate students attended the 2012 IFT Annual Meeting & Food Expo to present their research.  Abhinav Upadhyay, an Animal Science Ph.D. student, won second place in the Z. John Ordal (Food Microbiology Division): Graduate Student Research Paper Oral Competition.
  • This year’s Graduate Student Scholarship was presented by the CT Trustees of the Eastern States Exposition at the Big E to Maria (Procopio) Hoffman, ANSC Ph.D. student.
  • For the second time in her academic career, ANSC undergraduate Lisa Dauten was awarded the Eastern States Exposition Connecticut Trustee Undergraduate Student Scholarship.
  • The following members of the Department of Animal Science presented at the 2012 ASAS/ADSA meetings in Phoenix: Maria Hoffman, Ph.D. (Dr. Govoni) - received ASAS Presidential Poster Selection, Melissa Rokosa, M.S. (Dr. Zinn) - placed second in oral presentation for the Northeast ASAS/ADSA Grad Competition, Sarita Neupane, M.S. (Dr. Govoni) -  placed third in oral presentation for the Northeast ASAS/ADSA Grad Competition, Molly Viner (Dr. White; poster), Nidhish Francis (Dr. Govoni; poster), Dr. Sarah Reed, and Dr. Steven Zinn.
  • Big E Scholarship Recipient, Ms. Caitlin Lewis (ANSC M.S. Student), received the 2011 Connecticut Trustees of the Eastern States Exposition Scholarship.
  • This summer at the 2011 ASAS/ADSA Joint Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Maria Procopio, ANSC PhD student, placed second in the Northeast Graduate Student Paper competition and was awarded the H. Allen Tucker Graduate Student Travel Award.

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

  • CLAS cell and molecular biology major Anna Green won the prestigious Goldwater Scholarship for her work researching genetic evolution among specific types of bacteria.
  • Jessica Rack, a doctoral student in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology was awarded a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship.

Neag School of Education

  • A team of students from the Renzulli Academy of Hartford, earned top honors by a panel of accredited designers and architects at the first annual New England Design Symposium (NEDS), hosted by the Independent Day School of Middlefield.
  • Don Briere, a doctoral candidate, was recognized at the 9th International Conference on Positive Behavior Support in Atlanta, GA. Briere received the Outstanding Poster Presentation award, which has been established in honor of Dr. Edward (Ted) Carr.
  • Jessica Raugitinane, an IB/M student, was recognized as an Alma Exley Scholar for her dedication to public service in education.
  • Janine Firmender and Lisa Rubenstein each won a 2011 Doctoral Student Award at the National Association for Gifted Children.

School of Engineering

  • UConn Engineering received three new three-year 2012 U.S. Dept. of Education Graduate Assistance in Areas of National Need (GAANN) sites providing $1.2 million for graduate student support in the areas of sustainable energy technologies; nano-scale materials and device behavior for energy generation and storage; and computer systems security. The School of Engineering has received seven prior GAANN awards.
  • Erik Carboni, an engineering doctoral candidate, received a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship for work involving the delivery of drug molecules to cancerous tumors via the use of nanoparticles.
  • Engineering doctoral student Kelly Bertolaccini was awarded a 2012 Dwight David Eisenhower Graduate Fellowship in support of her research focusing on transit policy choices and the impact of transportation availability on social equity.
  • Engineering doctoral student Hom Sharma has received a three-year Environmental Protection Agency STAR (Science to Achieve Results) Fellowship for his research aimed at reducing toxic vehicular exhaust emissions.
  • Jamie Maciaszek, an engineering Ph.D. student, was awarded an American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship.
  • Engineering Ph.D. students Mario Llorente, Luca Lucera, Fabio Poretti and Andrea Sarasola received U.S. Department of Education FIPSE/Atlantis Fellowships.
  • Alicia Echevarria, a Ph.D. student in engineering, received a Homeland Security STEM Fellowship.
  • Engineering doctoral students Adam Cywar and Eric Sirois garnered NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program Fellowships.
  • Doctoral students Michael Zuba and Adam Heitman were awarded Office of Naval Research Enterprise Internship Program Fellowships. Ph.D. candidates Thuy Pham and Caitlin Martin were awarded the Ruth L. Kirchstein National Research Service Award for Individual Predoctoral Fellows.
  • Behnoosh Tavakoli, a doctoral engineering student, received an SPIE Scholarship in Optics & Photonics.
  • Undergraduate Biomedical Engineering student Lia Bonacci received a Naval Research Enterprise Internship Program (NREIP) award.

School of Nursing

  • Emily Tuthill, BS, BA, RN, a School of Nursing PhD student, was awarded a Predoctoral Individual National Research Service Grant Award (NRSA) from the National Institute of Mental Health.


Current Fact Sheet

Basic information about the University of Connecticut.

Download PDF

Fact Sheet Archive

Bioscience CT

Connecticut is at the forefront of the bioscience industry.

Download PDF

Tech Park

A place that grows ideas.

Download PDF


The University's founding and early years.

History Website